IdleSun's Weblog

October 9, 2008

Flex – When is the stage available?

Filed under: Flex — idlesun @ 6:21 pm

I wanted to capture all the key strokes and handle them once my Flex app is launched. I found that I need to add a handler to the stage and I tried with the creationComplete event of my Application. However, I couldn’t get what I want because the stage variable was STILL null. And then after a while I found that there is another event right after creationComplete. That is applicationComplete. Voila! I could access the stage and got what I wanted.

<mx:Application applicationComplete="onAppComplete()">
  <mx:Script><![CDATA[
    private function onAppComplete():void {
      if (this.stage != null)
      stage.addEventListener(KeyboardEvent.KEY_UP, onKeyUp);
    }
    private function onKeyUp(event:KeyboardEvent):void	{
      // handle key strokes
    }
  ]]><mx:Script>
  ...

By the way, I couldn’t resolve my problem without this: Flex Instantiation Life Cycle and Event Flow. Thanks Ted!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

